Paintings and Titles

Image

There are times when I have a hard time deciding on a title, not for a lack of words to describe it, but more because there are many that come to my mind when I create a painting, or when I view it after the fact.  I’ve recently come to a solution of titling these pieces with 3 or 4 words that came to my consciousness while working on the piece or after i’ve completed it.  An example is Pink, Black, Turbulence, Woman.  (Painting above) The words PINK, BLACK not only for the striking contrast between the two colors, but also because PINK and BLACK symbolizes strength and femininity combined.  TURBULENCE, as depicted by the brush strokes, for the powerful, sexual and/or emotional experience within, and WOMAN for the subject.

Another example is Water Winter Blizzard (painting below).  While I was painting this I was thinking WATER — a violent splash, crashing waves.  The cool crisp feel of this painting also makes it feel like a WINTER landscape, trees covered with snow, or even a WINTER BLIZZARD!  Anyhow, I think this titling strategy works quite well with the way my abstract paintings go… I’ll start with a title, and I leave it up to the viewer to conjure up a story…  there’s all sorts of possibilities… words and titles are just a starting point.

Image

